top of page
Search
  • katorlando

Is It Just Me?

I used that question because I may be asking that in these writings every so often. First of all I must apologize for the way this site is cropping my photo, headless. Oh, well, still trying to figure out how to reposition it.

Until then, I'll continue. ***IN OTHER NEWS**** In case you are not aware, I WON A DETROIT MUSIC AWARD this year. If I reflect back on where I am and what I've done, I am thankful for a validation like that. I don't take it for granted. At my age, any day I can do what I love, physically and otherwise able, I'm doing well. Still, much work to do! My work is constant promotion. But I have to feed the muse, keep listening to artists who inspire me, practice, explore...and then promote again. Age has not been favoring my vocal chords (Allergies or Reflux? Still unknown..) and that instrument needs to be nurtured, muscles flexed. Vocal exercises, working out and other remedies help. I have my stronger nights and I just have to remember what got me singing along to the radio in the first place. Aside from that, I always get back to the feeling I get when I open up my saxophone or flute case. I would think any musician knows the feeling of looking at an object that is an extension of you and your expression. You go back to the first day you got that instrument or your first instrument. Or how many gigs you shut that prized precious case after, the good feelings you got from playing a very fulfilling night with a cool appreciate crowd. That spot you hit where everything lines up in the universe to make it that way- the sound, the audience, the place, the vibe the players in sync, no drama (or at least not on the stage or that night!) Like many, I came from a time of being in one group, that one being THE one that would get you from point A to B, whether that destination be just working or more than that - recording success, recognition. Now participating in the music business, at least a local performing one, involves being able to jump from one entity to another, whatever a particular venue calls for. So at this time, I perform in my band "Kat Orlando" or Kat's Funkaholic, depending on the gig (You see what I'm talking about?), my husband's band, Hidden Agenda, our Duo (Husband and I) and whatever other band that might call me. So don't hate me if I come into a place with backing tracks. Venues having smaller budgets, less space, less tolerance for volume, all these factors dictate this. The upside? MANY songs!! We can shift from one genre to another. We're still fine tuning, expanding (editing) these songs with solo spaces to groove on it!


Still nothing can replace the LIVE sound. So my CD release and shows like that are the most fulfilling of all.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page