top of page
Search
  • katorlando

Social: To Be or Not to Be - A Commentator in your Songwriting

I may have mentioned before how I've been in promotion mode and not writing much. Lately I managed to find a spot for my little studio set up, as the house goes through a metamorphosis with music equipment, displaced furniture, tools and stuff in disarray. That's just normal for anyone who has lived in one spot for a while. (well...unless your a musician the equipment part does not apply!) If I can find picture of my home decor ideas using QSC speakers and road cases, maybe I can get an endorsement from them or Martha Stewart!


So..... I've been trying out riffs, just jamming out ideas, not getting anything that clicks with me. I decided it's better to get back to my stronger suit: lyrics and melody. I have a former writing partner from the 80s I was planning on collaborated with, but he may not be active, as far as writing at the moment. So I decided to jump on an online writing, a collaboration site (that sends me notifications anyway). I stumbled across a tune that was right up my alley. The description was a Curtis Mayfield, Isaac Hayes and Marvin Gaye vibe with four lines of lyrics leading off. The groove was exactly that. So I started coming up with lyric and melodic ideas and posting them. The musician that initially posted seemed to like where I was going with it. I'm actually thrilled with it. But when I go off in the lyrical direction I did, I have to wonder if people or the audience is ready to get back to social commentary realm of songs that I cannot help writing these days. I feel like there's a way to let it all loose and say things but do it in a way that does not alienate. I see blogs of other artists who post what they do at an instant. I suppose I could do the same but I hold out for a quality factor, especially when I do not present it as an acoustic singer/songwriter form. Some point to yesterday's social commentary massive hits so prevalent int he 60s and 70s. Huge songs by artists I already mentioned. My question: are social commentary songs something, as a listener, you would avoid - or - does it depend on other factors like the beat, the hook, just in general how COOL it is?

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page